The Hardest Part

I was taking a shower the other morning. Nothing uncommon about that, except that on this particular morning I was dreading getting out. It had been cold the night before and I was up early before the heat had come on. Sometimes, the hardest part of taking a shower is turning off the water. I knew that once I did, I’d be cold and uncomfortable.

Often, the hardest parts of life are the things that make us the most uncomfortable. But, that’s if you take the most cynical and narrow view of the situation. Because before the water was turned off, I was warm and cozy. And within a few moments, I was dry and fresh feeling. If I were to get caught up in the uncomfortableness of turning off the water, I’d forget about where I just was. More importantly, I’d forget about where I was going to be.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “The Hardest Part

  1. Reminds me of a really good post on Raptitude: http://www.raptitude.com/2010/08/how-to-make-life-agreeable/

    My favorite quote from this article is “let it feel like what it feels like” to get over uncomfortable situations

    Like

Leave a Reply

