Or Best Offer

OBO does not mean what I think you think it means (shameless Princess Bride steal). For it to be a true OBO, it has to be the best offer for me. Not necessarily for you. Good OBOs are often mutually beneficial, but they certainly aren’t going to benefit the buyer more than the seller. Sellers are looking to sell, not giveaway.
I’m convinced that most people on CraigsList have no idea what OBO really means. No, it is not you offering me your junk for my used car. Nor does it mean I’ll consider trades for your old PC, (mostly worthless) “rare” coins, stamp collection, or your run down car. I’m trying to sell my run down car, why would I want yours? Obviously, the simple solution is to just remove OBO from future postings. But I’d rather come up with some rules for responding to an OBO.
Rule 1: if you’re looking to trade something you don’t want, chances are I don’t want it either.
Rule 2: speaking of trades, ask if the person listing is even interested in trades before you offer up that sweet doll collection.
Rule 2: do not offer a trade plus cash from me. I’m looking to make money, not spend it.
Rule 3: if you’ve used a certain tactic and been turned down more than once, stop using said tactic.
Rule 4: ask yourself very seriously if your offer is an offer you’d be interested in receiving.Let’s keep OBOs a classy way to sell and buy.
Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

